Frequently Asked Questions

When I donate to the H.U. Lee Memorial Foundation, where does my money go?

All donations are deposited into the Foundation’s account and are used for our scholarship program. The American Taekwondo Association pays for all the Foundation’s administrative expenses, including salaries, to provide more money for scholarships.

Is my donation tax deductible?

Yes. The H.U. Lee Memorial Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization. All donations of $25 or more are acknowledged and receipted with a thank you letter from the Foundation.

What is the Regional Scholarship program and why was it developed?

In 2002, the H.U. Lee Memorial Foundation created the Regional Scholarship program to provide our school owners and instructors with greater input on the scholarship program. Seventy five percent of funds raised locally, such as through a Board Break-a-Thon (BBAT) or other school-hosted fundraiser, is reserved for that region for Regional Scholarships. School owners are then included in the scholarship review process and help determine recipients.

How do I apply for a scholarship?

If you meet the minimum qualifications, you must submit a complete application by February 15th. Your application must be signed by your Taekwondo instructor and include a copy of your transcripts and an essay. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Applications can mailed to: H.U. Lee Memorial Foundation, 1800 Riverfront Drive, Little Rock, AR 72202.

How are the scholarship recipients selected?

All applications are reviewed by a committee whose members have professional experience and training in education, such as principals, teachers and other education professionals.

How do I find out who received the H.U. Lee Memorial Foundation Scholarships?

National Scholarship recipients are notified approximately one month prior to World Championships and are publicly announced during the Tournament in Little Rock, AR. Regional Scholarshp winners are notified through their instructor after World Championshp Tournament. Winners are also recognized in ATA World magazine and on the Foundation’s website.

Leave a Reply